top of page

Pop art that asks “Time is limited, what would you do?” 人生を問うアート(英語版)


Due to the increasing demand, here is the English translation that I personally made for my interview to Jae Oh, published printing & online at Oct issue of AsiaX.

10月号の『AsiaX』で掲載中の、画家で俳優のJae Ohさんへの小職のインタビューにつき

英語版をこちらに掲載します。なお『AsiaX』を発行するメディアジャパンでは英語版をリリースしておりません。リクエストを多数頂いたため、あくまでもこちらは個人的翻訳ですのでご了承ください。

--------------------

Oct Issue, published printed and online on “AsiaX”

Japanese Business Free Paper in Singapore by Media Japan

Interview to Jae Oh

Writer/interviewer: Mai Soori

Photographer: David Goh

Pop art that asks “Time is limited, what would you do?”

An Icon of the Era who continue to express as an actor and painter

Artist + Artiste Jae Oh

Have you excused yourself, have been waiting for a right moment and have postponed trying to do what you really wanted to do in your life? This time I have interviewed an Singaporean artist Jae Oh who had decided to make a splendid transition from a famous actor to a painter at some point in his life.

He produce paintings that evoke "awareness of life" by sifting through stereotypes and preconceptions of human beings, for example with infinite greed in limited life. His view of the world is unique by using an easy-to-understand motif in pop art style, with surrealistic perspective.

The common historical background between Singapore and the U.S. back at the time when the pop art culture led by Andy Warhol was most popular is the mass consumer society. He has been witnessing these era for many years as an expresser by being an actor . Thinking of how his experience is ended up with this current style and concept as an artist, it seems like to me that his artwork might reflect modern Singapore itself. In his view of the world which is increasingly influential to the general public in Singapore day by day through the spreading of his artwork, there were lots of hints for us Japanese businessman and woman who might want to take a moment to look back what’s missing in our busy life.

- First of all please tell me what made you start painting.

I always like painting since I was young. I have a long-time career as an actor that I began at the age of 20, but 7 years ago there was a certain trigger to determined myself that "Before it was too late, I will do what I wanted to do in my life and that starts now". I think many people think “I will do what I like to do after my retirement”. However, Since I recognized the importance of "living in the present", I decided to design my future life to commit with becoming a full - time painter. I occasionally work as an actor sstill such as in a TV drama, but my daily life is about painting from morning till night.

- Do you have any mentor?

No I don’t. I self-taught and naturally my own style has been created and shaped by continuous painting routine.

-What’s your inspiration?

Inspiration can be found everywhere for me, from conversation with people and from nature for example.

After painting a heavy theme such as feelings inside of a person, I tend to choose other motif that can be produced without thinking too deeply.

-I think action of output itself could be similar between acting and painting. What is the difference for you?

It is very different. The actor's job is that the you have to obey the producer’s instructions and their ideas. Every aspect is controlled. But painting I can decide everything. I am a producer controlling everything and I can express my own world perfectly which gives me a freedom. That’s what I like.

-Can you tell me story behind of some of your artworks?

For example, "Human Greed" that I painted, I have expressed the five great desires that human being posses. The five great desires are consists of money, woman(man), eating and drinking, self-presentation, and sleep. It has an ironic over tones that you might be ended up with getting sick and need medication as a result of pursuing too much of them. These desires are infinite and once you get one you would desire more unlimitedly. But life is limited. Knowing what’s enough leads to the happiness of “Live in a present” with a gratitude.

The other painting named “Female Guard” is based on my real episode. One day I was in Beijing and professor friend of mine told me that woman born pretty doesn’t need to go to the university because she is considered graduate. I have painted this artwork in response to our prior communication and shared with him, then he laughed. It shows life is a series of jokes.

-Is there any central concept that connects all of your artworks?

Yes there is. It is ” Life is a Joke”. I am a Buddhist and I have a routine of meditating and this inspiration suddenly arrived during meditation. Looking back the past I came to recognize what a joke one’s life is. Modern people can not afford to even notice the beauty of the leaves falling from the trees, being chased by the busyness of the daily routine. Life may not be as you intended, and you may experience chaotic days. Laugh away that life is a farce, grasp the inner nature of life that life is a joke that all suffering is coming from your own stereotypes, and this way you can live in a present. When you aware the importance of “Live in a present” you would realize there is only gratitude.

-I have never seen pop art with such deep insight. A first impression comes with warm colors and feeling being welcomed. As you carefully observe, you notice that layers are meaningful rather than simple.

Yes it is a unique style indeed. I would like people feel "peace, joy and happiness" through my artwork. Sometimes it is said that my work is often sercastic(Laugh).

- I understand that it seems that it will take time to get to the deep concept of your artworks.

I isolate myself 8 to 10 hours to start thinking of the concept. Sometimes I play music such as classic or Jazz, sometimes silence helps too. And starting with the sketching, I paint the layers and layers for a month. It takes certain time to dry as they are oil, but I rather enjoy that process too.

- Which moment makes you happiest? When your artwork is sold or when you paint?

Of course, when I am painting!

-Do you feel as an artist in Singapore that government support can be better to encourage the artist?

Yes. In Singapore where rent is so high, most artists can not cover the studio rent. It would be nice if government support the artists to share / rent the space without too much burden. Another point is networking. It is easy for artists to feel lonely because there is no horizontal network platform to connect with other artists. For example in Baijing there is an big internatitonal art festival called “Songzhuang Art Festival/Village” where you can meet well known international artists from all over the world, you can share your passion with same-minded. This is great experience to keep up our motivation.

-Do you have any interaction with Japanese community?

Yes I do. The condominium that I used to live there is a big Japanese community and I always had a chance communicating with them, from children to adult. I still get in touch with them and for me to play with these children brings me a greatest joy, stress release and energy charge experiences. By knowing Japanese community I felt that Japanese has a refine culture.

-What are your future activity and any target?

Currently I am working based in Singapore and it would be nice to have an opportunity for an exhibition in Japan one day!

Profile:

Jae Oh (Artist Name)

Qin Wei・秦伟(Artiste Name)

A Singaporean iconic artiste & artist. His artworks with sensitivity of pop art have been influencing the society by delivering the message to overturns many kinds of stereotypes. His artworks are permanently exhibited in “Yang Gallery” at Hilton Hotel, Orchard.

Yang Gallery Singapore

The Shopping Gallery Hilton, #01-11, 581 Orchard Road, Singapore 238883

https://www.yanggallery.com.sg/

--------------------------

-URL to the e-Book: This goes directly to the page.

http://www.mediajapan.sg/ebook/asiax/vol338/?page=30

-URL to the online version of the article: This will be under this URL link of listing of "Singapore EYE Interview" on Sat 29th Sep.

https://www.asiax.biz/biz/singapore-eye/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page